The Department of Physics is the predecessor of our school, with 38 full-time faculty members including 20 full professors, and a current enrollment of 550 undergraduate and 150 postgraduate students. The mission of the physics department is to promote its education, research, and innovation with greatest effort. Physics is the science that deals at the most fundamental level with matter and energy, their interactions, and their transformation. It presents major challenges to the human mind and provides the foundation for other sciences. By pursuing creative research at the frontier of knowledge and innovation at the cutting edge of technology, it is the ultimate purpose of our faculty members to preserve and nurture a sense of wonder about the natural world, and to impart it to the students as a driving motivation for learning.

The Department has a wide variety of specialties and areas in physics, which includes Theoretical Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, Atomic Physics and Molecular Physics, Particle Physics and Nuclear Physics, Plasma Physics, Optics, and Acoustics etc. There is a strong offering of core subjects in the fundamental fields of physics. Undergraduates are encouraged to select areas of concentration in the traditional or applied subjects of physics. Faculty and postgraduate research focuses on condensed matter, optical and theoretical physics, and these include physics of photonics and phononic crystals, soft matter, nano-structure, strongly correlated systems, nonperiodic solids, diffraction, lasers, quantum field and elementary particles, materials, thin films, surfaces, interfaces, polymers and composites. A focused area of interdisciplinary collaboration that has emerged over the years is nanoscience and nanotechnology.

A number of key laboratories and interdisciplinary research centers provide support for the Department's research programs. Particularly relevant are the Center of Electron Microscope, Center of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Key Laboratory of Artificial Micro- and Nano-structures of Ministry of Education, Laboratory of nuclear solid state physics, Accelerator Laboratory, and Positron Laboratory. State-of-the-art facilities for large scale and intensive scientific computation include various workstations, and a parallel processing platform of clustered PCs.

Undergraduate Program
Core Courses
Chinese I~IV
Advanced mathematics I, II, III
Basics and Applications of Computer
Microprocessor/Computer Theory
Microcomputer Interface technology

Classical Mechanics
Mathematical Methods in Physics
Thermodynamics and Statistical Physics
Electronic Circuit
Atomic and Nuclear Physics
Quantum Mechanics
Solid State Physics
Experimental Physics I, II, III
Experiments in Modern Physics
Experiments of Electronic Circuit

Advanced Quantum Mechanics
Group Theory
Quantum Information
Information Optics
Laser Theory and Technology
Non-linear Optics
Material Physics
Computational Physics

Credits Required

Length of Schooling
Four years

Degree Awarded
Bachelor of Science

Postgraduate Program
Core Courses
Advanced Quantum Mechanics
Group Theory
Solid State Physics II
Computational Physics II
Nuclear Physics and its Application
Particle Physics
Quantum Field Theory
Quantum Statistics and Many Body Problem
Quantum Theory of Solids
Gauge Field Theory
Experiments of Solid State Physics
Symmetric Group in Crystallography
High Resolution Electron Microscopy
Quantum Optics
Information Optics II
Waveguide Optics

Length of Schooling
Two years (MS), Three years (MS)、Three years (Ph.D)

Degree Awarded
Master of Science, Doctor of Philosophy

Contact Information
Department of Physics
School of Physics and Technology
Wuhan University
Wuhan 430072
P.R. China
Tel: +86-27-68752969
Fax: +86-27-68752569